Canterbury Cricket Association Award Winners, 2005/06

The Canterbury Cricket Association 2005/06 Club and Representative Awards ceremony was held at the Canterbury Horticultural Society Hall at Hagley Park on Monday, April 10.

Though St Albans couldn't quite match the heady achievements of the previous season, the club's centenary year, there were still a number of teams and individuals to feature prominently in the awards.

Besides those who won, there were a number of St Albans people either nominated for other awards or were recognised in special achievement awards as part of successful representative teams.

Amy Satterthwaite and Mel Carmont were members of the Canterbury women's development team which won the national tournament in December. It was the second year in a row Satterthwaite, who captained the side this year, had been part of the tournament-winning team.

Nigel Jones was a member of the victorious Canterbury 'A' men's team who won the national tournament, beating Auckland by three runs in their final match in February to secure the title.

Kirsty Flavell received a special award for her contributions to Canterbury cricket, after recently stepping down as coach of the State Canterbury Magicians team. Flavell had coached the side for the last three seasons, making the final each year and winning on the first two occasions.

St Albans member Trevor Thornton was again nominated for the school coach of the year award, this time for his work with the Christchurch Boys' High School third grade Red team. Last year Thornton won the award for coaching the CBHS Under 15A team, who won their youth section. This year he missed out to former St Albans Premier men's captain Neil Fletcher, who co-coached the CBHS first XI to three titles this season.

Nominated for club coach of the year was Mike Dickie, coach of the competition-winning St Albans first grade Blue women's team. Dickie lost out to East Christchurch Shirley Premier men's coach Neville Lyons, who won the one-day and two-day competitions this season.

Before receiving the premier award at the end of the evening, Canterbury captain Chris Harris collected the State Twenty20 and State Shield trophies on behalf of his team, which also included Stephen Cunis. Canterbury won the titles within the space of eight days but it was the first silverware they had won in five seasons.

St Albans winners' photos [click to enlarge]:

First reserve grade men with their trophy First grade Blue women's captain Tessa King with their trophy Canterbury women's development XI captain Amy Satterthwaite with their trophy
The first reserve grade men with their competition trophy. From left: Scott Mason, Graeme White, Tony Falloon, Duncan Hutton, Graham Curgenven, Murray Griffin and Darren Lowe. The first grade Blue women's captain Tessa King with their competition trophy The Canterbury women's development XI captain Amy Satterthwaite with their tournament trophy

Grade awards:

CCA/CSCA 1st Reserve Grade Cup:

St Albans 'B'

1st Grade Women's Trophy:

St Albans Blue

Representative awards:

VFL State Canterbury Magician Fielder of the Season:

Rowan Milburn

Scenic Circle State Canterbury Wizard Bowler of the Season:

Chris Harris

State Canterbury Wizard Player of the Season:

Chris Harris